Board of Education

The Montclair Board of Education consists of nine volunteers from the community. Historically, the board was made up  of seven members appointed by the mayor; in November 2022, however, Montclair voters approved the switch to what is know as a "Type 2" system in which school boards have nine members elected by the community. Service terms are noted below.

For each member's biography and individual district email, click on his/her photo or name below.

Residents may also contact the Board of Education as a whole (your message will be sent to all seven Board members) via this group email address.

See also:

A presentation entitled "Board Member Roles and Responsibilities" was given by the New Jersey School Boards Association (NJSBA) at the June 10, 2013 Board of Education workshop meeting. The presentation identifies and highlights the roles and functions of board members serving in their communities and clarifies the division of responsibilities between the Superintendent and the BOE. The NJSBA, a federation of boards of education, provides training, advocacy and support to advance public education and promote the achievement of all students through effective governance.

silverstein headshot
Allison Silverstein
President, 2023

hopkins headshot
Crystal Hopkins
Vice President, 2023

Yvonne Bouknight


Melanie Deysher


Phaedra Dunn


Brian Fleischer

inyang headshot
Monk Inyang

scherzer headshot
Eric Scherzer

Kathryn Weller-Demming

Board Appointments

Allison Silverstein
Vice President:
Crystal Hopkins
Nisivoccia, LLP
Board Secretary:
Christina Hunt
Treasurer of School Monies:
Andrea DelGuercio
Legal Counsel:

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.